Awards and Grants

Center for Missouri Studies Fellowships

The Center for Missouri Studies fellowship program seeks to promote and disseminate scholarship in underexplored areas of Missouri history and culture, including interdisciplinary study of the Show-Me State. Each fellowship carries a stipend of $5,000 for a project that results in the completion of a 6,000 to 8,000-word scholarly essay, exclusive of notes, on one of the topics selected each year.

Mary C. Neth Prize

The Mary C. Neth Prize, created in memory of a professor in the University of Missouri–Columbia Department of History who specialized in women’s history, is given biennially (in odd–numbered years) to the author of the best article on women or gender issues appearing in the preceding two volumes of the Missouri Historical Review.

Richard S. Brownlee Missouri Local History Grant

The State Historical Society of Missouri honors a long-time former SHSMO Executive Director, Dr. Richard S. Brownlee, by making grants available in his name to help Missouri cultural heritage institutions preserve and provide access to local history. Brownlee Local History Grants awards of up to $500 are available for the preservation of historical records or the education and programming of activities. A maximum of $10,000 will be awarded each year.

Trustee Appreciation Award

There are people who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to SHSMO's mission to collect, preserve, and share Missouri History. SHSMO's Board of Trustees has chosen to honor these select individuals with a special recognition for their steadfast support. It began in 2012 and was named the Trustee Appreciation Award the following year.