Call for Nominations: Missouri History Book Award and Atherton Prizes

Award Nominations Due June 30

The State Historical Society of Missouri is seeking nominations for the Missouri History Book Award and the Lewis E. Atherton Prizes.

Nominations are due by June 30, 2022, and winners will be announced at the 2022 Annual Meeting on October 29. See below for award and nomination details.

Missouri History Book Award

The Missouri History Book Award is given annually to the author of the best book published on the history of Missouri and its people.

Books copyrighted in 2021 are eligible for the 2022 award. The honor includes a $1,500 prize and a certificate for the author(s).

Learn More about the Book Award

Lewis E. Atherton Prizes

The Lewis E. Atherton Prizes are awarded to an outstanding doctoral dissertation and master’s thesis on Missouri history or biography.

The winner of the dissertation award will receive a $1,000 check and a certificate, and the winner of the thesis award will receive a $500 check and a certificate.

Nominations must be made by the department that granted the degree, and no more than two nominations for each prize are accepted annually from a department. For the 2022 prizes, nominees must have completed a doctoral degree or the master's degree between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022.

Learn More about the Atherton Prizes