Awards and Grants

Lewis E. Atherton

Lewis E. Atherton Prizes

The Lewis E. Atherton Prizes are awarded to an outstanding doctoral dissertation and master's thesis on Missouri history or biography. Criteria for selection include originality of subject matter or methodology, effective use of sources, clarity of style, and contribution to the understanding of Missouri history.

The Lewis E. Atherton Prizes honor an outstanding scholar of the history of Missouri, the South, and the West who taught at the University of Missouri and served as a trustee and president of the State Historical Society of Missouri.

The winner of the dissertation award will receive a $1,000 check and a certificate, and the winner of the thesis award will receive a $500 check and a certificate. The checks and certificates will be presented at SHSMO's annual meeting on November 2, 2019.


Nominations must be made by the department that granted the degree, and no more than two nominations for each prize are accepted annually from a department. For the 2019 prizes, nominees must have completed a doctoral degree or the master's degree between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2019.

The awards are given at the discretion of the Lewis E. Atherton Prize Committee, whose members are selected by the executive director of SHSMO.

Four copies of the thesis or dissertation and a letter of nomination that includes full contact information for the department and the nominee should be personally delivered or postmarked by June 30, 2019, to:

Lewis E. Atherton Prizes
The State Historical Society of Missouri
1020 Lowry Street
Columbia, MO 65201

For further information, contact SHSMO at 573.882.7083 or

Lewis E. Atherton Prize Recipients